Gold & Silver Forum

Gold & Silver Forum (http://goldismoney.info/forums/index.php)
-   Gold - Silver - Coins - Numismatics (http://goldismoney.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay (http://goldismoney.info/forums/showthread.php?t=75216)

Weatherman 10-21-2006 08:08 AM

Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
The link below is a guide published in June on eBay UK about fake silver .999 rounds. Looks like the price of silver is high enough this year to worry again about counterfeit rounds.

http://reviews.ebay.co.uk/Fake-Silve...00000001234763

tinman 10-21-2006 06:01 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
That's interesting. I have some of those and will have to check them out. I didn't think it would be worthwhile to fake 1 oz. rounds.

Copperhead 10-21-2006 07:51 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
It never said it was silver. Maybe it was .999 brass. :bandito:

GREENSILVERHORN 10-21-2006 08:45 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Well that ain't fine at all.

WAoG 10-22-2006 03:14 AM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Thank you for the post!!

Big_Rob 10-23-2006 03:11 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Thats the reason I stopped buying AG off of Ebay.

Maddie 09-11-2007 09:55 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Eek! I have some of those...better go check them. :bear_angry:

drafter 09-11-2007 10:06 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
It would seem like the time required to create these would negate any profit. Unless these are being mass produced and imported from china, which they may very well be, it just seems stupid. When silver is at $50 then yes I can understand it, but right now? After dealing with APMEX for the GIM round, I think I'll just deal with them from now on for my future purchases. Ebay for "everything" has become a shady operation these days.

Baphomet Jones 09-16-2007 12:24 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I've got one of those, its the real deal though. Is it going to be difficult to sell the real ones, when people find out about this hype over the fake ones? :confused_ma: Should we sell our real ones while we still can, and trade them in for prospectors or trade units?

TomD 09-16-2007 12:37 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Naccarato did a thread on this a couple of weeks ago. i have only 4 of that type but they are all good.

naccarato 09-16-2007 02:32 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I got a tube of the real ones, and 2 of the fake ones. The fake ones are the ones in your link weatherman. When you look at each you can see a real difference in the quality of the Indian and buffalo images.The real one also says 999 fine silver and one troy ounce while the fake one doesn't.
But now I am thinking of selling the real ones because it looks similar to the fake ones. Even though I know it's real.
Hey Jones I'll trade my good Indian coins for your prospectors. PM me.

:call2:

latemetal 09-16-2007 08:05 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
http://cgi.ebay.com/2003-1-OUNCE-999...QQcmdZViewItem I hope these are real, but I'm still not bidding.:no_ma::no_ma::no_ma:

naccarato 09-16-2007 08:11 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=rvi:1:1v_buy

And another add on e-bay. These are the fake ones latemetal. I returned them to a dealer at a show last week, still have two left.

naccarato 09-16-2007 08:25 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
http://i15.ebayimg.com/04/i/000/9a/32/827f_1_b.JPG

These are the real ones.

Maddie 09-16-2007 08:41 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Anyone know when these started showing up? Was it recently? I have some I bought a year or so ago. I guess I need to dig them out and check. :bear_angry:

naccarato 09-16-2007 09:00 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I don't know Maddie, bought the ten fakes a month ago. But then I went through all my "deep storage" stash and found another two. Those I am stuck with since I don't remember who I got them from.

randymatt 09-17-2007 01:04 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Hey naccarato,

What is the weight of the fakes?

RealityCheck 09-17-2007 01:59 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
So are these fakes easy to tell, or do they look and feel the same?

naccarato 09-17-2007 06:14 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Looking and feeling them is not so easy to tell except that I noticed if you look at the edge you can see a little bit of a brassy color. I don't know what they weigh, don't have a scale.
I think the best way to go is to make sure it say's 1 troy ounce 999 fine Silver on it.

hugo_danner 09-18-2007 02:13 AM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I've pretty much stopped buying on EBay, period. Used to be you could get good deals, but not so much anymore. Lots of scams now, too. I've noticed LOTS of those fake gold coins as well. I've been wondering when those fake ones would start being sold as real ones. I wouldn't be surprised to hear those are being sold now as well!

Big_Rob 09-18-2007 09:25 AM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I dont buy on Ebay anymore for the simple fact that you dont really get to hold it and feel it before you buy it.

I always buy locally.

etc 09-18-2007 09:35 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Buying on Ebay is safe, if you check the feedback, it has to be high enough. Secondly, buy from an establshed PM vendor. Buying from these Ebay stores is no different than from Tulving.com or anyone else (without the stupid 20 oz limit)

I've had one bad experience on ebay, when I bought a used car transmission (actually made a private offer bypassing Ebay bidding process) from a seller with 0 feedback. Two bad mistakes right there. The tranny worked all right - but it was wrong year, wrong configuration (I4 not V6)

These days, I buy everything on Ebay as much as possible.
Better prices, better choice, less attitude. Better pics too.
I did OK with PM, only problem is, the quantities are rather small, 10 oz here, 5 oz there. If you want to buy say 100 Maples, may have to wait for weeks and weeks until such an auction is run. I picked up 40 oz of original NORFED rounds, probably the more desirable rounds available for a great price of $13 each. If they are shut down, they will become collectible and instantly rise in price.

But, got to do your research. If you see a seller with high feedback who sold 2,000 teeshirts suddenly offering high-end optics or gold Maples or laptops, might want to reconsider - major red flag - high jacked account. I saw these more than once.

poor boy 02-24-2008 03:08 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
I bought some of these the other day.On the indian side "one try ounce" is visible in the indian's collar.On the buffalo side it says "one troy ounce" over the buffalo and "999 fine silver" under the buffalo.

Twisted Avatar 02-24-2008 04:52 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
Always try to buy local........it is worth the premium you pay for the peace of mind.

Flea bay is going down like the hindenberg ..... took much risk for my taste.


T

StackerKen 02-24-2008 05:12 PM

Re: Fake Silver .999 rounds on eBay
 
People have been saying ebay won't last since it started

Ebay's Gonna be around for a while...

Just gotta be careful


Caveat emptor !


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright = None use it and Link to GIM